Travel to Scotland: UK tourists from 23 countries banned amid Covid fears


A lot has happened in the travel industry recently, with some destinations having reopened their borders to those wishing to travel again.

A few of the countries open to UK travelers at the moment include Cyprus, France, Greece, Italy, Spain, United States and United Arab Emirates.

So if you want to, for example, travel to Cyprus, you have to follow their strict rules as the UK is on their ‘covid red list’.

READ MORE – An NHS scam asking people to self-isolate after an ‘omicron’ contact circulating in the UK

To travel, you will need to obtain a flight pass online before as well as a negative PCR test which must have been taken within 72 hours of departure.

People aged 12 or over must take a PCR test at the airport as well as daily PCR tests throughout the trip.

Another tourist hotspot allowing tourists to pass is Greece, which is open to vaccinated and unvaccinated Britons.

Anyone over the age of 12 will be required to complete a Passenger Locator Form prior to departure and must present proof of a negative Covid test result.

PCR testing can be done within 72 hours of arrival, or antigen testing within 48 hours of arrival.

Get all the latest news and headlines from Edinburgh, Fife and Lothians straight to your inbox twice a day by signing up to our free newsletter.

From breaking news to breaking news on the coronavirus crisis in Scotland, we’ve got you covered.

The morning newsletter arrives before 9 a.m. daily and the evening newsletter, hand-curated by the team, is sent out at 6:30 p.m., giving you insight into the most important stories of the day.

To sign up, simply enter your email address in this link here and select Daily News.

In addition to the opening of some countries, fully vaccinated passengers will no longer need to take a test after returning to Scotland.

The rule, which comes into effect on February 11, means that people who are completely stung will no longer have to take a lateral flow test on entry, as was previously the case, but must fill out a form of location of passengers.

The rules however differ slightly for those who have not had a full set of strokes meaning that if you fall into this category you still need to take a pre-departure test before arriving in Scotland as well as complete a PCR test the same day or before. two after entry.

So which countries are the British not currently able to visit?

Countries where UK travelers are banned

The countries below are currently keeping their borders closed to overseas visitors, including UK travellers.

1. Australia

Australia has begun a gradual reopening of its borders, including work visa holders and international students, but at present it still remains closed to tourists.

2. Benin

The country only grants entry to visitors in cases of “extreme necessity”.

3. Bhutan

Bhutan has closed its borders to all foreign nationals.

4. Brunei

Entry into Brunei is severely restricted, with all land and sea borders currently closed. Britons will need a permit from the Brunei Prime Minister’s Office to visit.

5. Cook Islands

Borders are closed to all travelers unless they have obtained an exemption provided in writing by the Cook Islands Department of Foreign Affairs and Immigration.

6. China

All direct flights from the UK are suspended.

7. Falkland Islands

Tourists are currently not allowed to visit the Falkland Islands – this also applies to cruise passengers.

8. Hong Kong

Hong Kong has banned anyone who has visited the UK in the past 21 days.

9. Indonesia

They are currently closed to foreign visitors, but you can apply for a visitor or limited stay visa, including visas for humanitarian reasons.

10. Japan

Foreign nationals who do not have an existing residency status are not permitted to enter Japan for any reason.

11. Laos

No visas are issued to people traveling from a country with Covid cases – including the UK – although they may grant leave for essential reasons.

12. Macau

Macau is closed to foreign visitors.

13. Malaysia

The country has closed its borders to British travellers.

14. Burma

New tourist visa applications are currently suspended.

15. New Zealand

New Zealand has closed its borders to almost all arrivals as you can only travel if you are deemed to have a critical reason.

16. Papua New Guinea

The Foreign Office is currently advising against all but essential travel to Papua New Guinea “based on the current Covid risk assessment”.

Commercial flights to and from Papua New Guinea remain very limited.

17. Pitcairn Island

Borders except for residents and temporary residents traveling for work.

The only way to reach the island is to travel on a supply ship during its 14-day voyage from New Zealand to Pitcairn.

18. Singapore

Only Singapore citizens and permanent residents can enter Singapore without prior permission.

19. Suriname

The Foreign Office warns that “restrictions include enhanced medical screening and border closures, which prevent people from entering and leaving the country and limiting those who wish to leave”.

20. Taiwan

Taiwanese authorities have announced a temporary ban on foreign nationals entering Taiwan.

21. Tonga

Tongan borders are closed to entry to all foreign nationals unless permission is granted by the relevant Tongan government authorities.

22. Turkmenistan

All scheduled international commercial flights to and from Turkmenistan have been suspended.

23. Vietnam

Vietnam has suspended visa waivers, visa issuance and entry to Vietnam for most foreign nationals, regardless of their vaccination status.

Travel restrictions can change quickly, so always check the latest Foreign Office advice for your destination before you book or travel.


Comments are closed.